• Home /
  • News / Corbyn includes 5 Yorkshire MPs in shadow cabinet

Corbyn includes 5 Yorkshire MPs in shadow cabinet


Yorkshire is once again well represented in the shadow cabinet after new Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn named his top team.

Having been home to a large proportion of Ed Miliband's frontbench, Yorkshire will once again be represented in force around the shadow cabinet table with five members holding seats here.

Doncaster Central Rosie Winterton continues as Opposition Chief Whip, a position she has held since 2010.

Hilary Benn - MP for Leeds Central - will continue in his role as Shadow Foreign Secretary, a post he has held since the general election, and a position of vital importance with both the impending EU referendum and the refugee crisis at the top of the news agenda.

John Healey - MP for Wentworth and Dearne - returns to the shadow cabinet taking up the post of Shadow Housing and Planning Minister - a policy area that Jeremy Corbyn has consistently put at the top of his priority list and on which he asked his first question on his PMQs debut.

Barnsley East MP Michael Dugher has moved from transport to become Shadow Culture Secretary, overseeing the arts, media and sport.

And Hemsworth MP Jon Trickett, who held shadow cabinet posts under Mr Miliband, has been appointed Shadow Communites and Local Government Secretary - a vital post with devolution negotiations currently taking place.



Do you like this post?


Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Liquid syntax error: Error in tag 'subpage' - No such page slug cookies